Alimony can be awarded to the spouse who earns less than the other based on a number of factors including but not limited to:

  • Financial needs and resources of each spouse
  • Age and health of each spouse
  • Length of the marriage
  • Ability to become self-supporting

There are three basic types of Alimony: “Temporary” alimony is sometimes awarded during the time the divorce process is continuing; “rehabilitative” alimony is sometimes awarded to allow someone to get the education and training to become self-supporting.  “Permanent” alimony is awarded when someone is likely going to need financial support on a permanent basis after the marriage is over.

For a free consultation or a quick response to your questions regarding alimony, contact Timothy Leahy below:

I can't read the text, please reset it.
  Powered by Quick Contact

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *